Newsroom Veranstaltungen Team & Kontakt

Interventions_2024: Forced Labor in Full Public View

Artist interventions transport the history of forced labor under the Nazis into the space in a pointed manner. People who were turned into forced laborers by the Germans are given a presence in the midst of our everyday lives. At the same time, the project confronts the racist codes and regulations of the Nazis. Together with the Weimar artist Anke Heelemann we developed interventions from elements of our permanent exhibition.


Art creates encounters with the past

The art project brings historical documents into the public sphere in an unusual and both digital and analogue way. It provides spontaneous, direct confrontations with the past—and with the topic of forced labor under National Socialism—in the midst of everyday life. The project aims to surprise people and raise questions, inspiring curiosity and an interest in history.

Private photographs made by forced laborers during their time in Nazi Germany form the core of these interventions. Young people present themselves with confidence and vitality. The way that they recount their memories and their dedications on the back of the photographs or sometimes their messages in the photographs themselves ground the seemingly harmless images in their specific context and reveal the conditions of forced labor in Germany.

The relationship between Germany and the forced laborers was shaped by the racism of National Socialism. This is reflected in the comprehensive rules and regulations that the Nazi authorities implemented in all spheres of life. The interventions transfer some of these regulations as “disruptors” into public space, especially in contexts where they would have applied in everyday life during the Nazi period: on public transportation, in the city realm, in cultural institutions, at work, and in leisure contexts.

BECOME A SUPPORTER!

We already have many supporters who are providing space for us to present the fates of forced laborers and who are helping to make visible the everyday, systematic racism of the Nazi period. They provide space in their publications, websites, venues, and postcard stands, on social media or city amenities, on buses, in railways stations, and at bus stations.

Working together with many others, we are making an appeal to our common social responsibility—timelier than ever—to take a stand against marginalization and support the respect for human dignity and unalienable human rights.

Every form of support enhances the reach of the project and this joint message.

If you would like to join our efforts, please contact us!


We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to our supporters:

Thuringian State Parliament

City of Weimar

Stadtwerke Weimar Stadtversorgungs-GmbH

Stadtwirtschaft Weimar GmbH

weimar GmbH

Klassik Stiftung Weimar

Deutsches Nationaltheater und Staatskapelle Weimar GmbH

University Library, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

Youth, Culture and Education Centre, mon ami

City Cinema at mon ami

Lichthaus Kino

Gaswerk Weimar e.V.

BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN, State Parliaent Faction, Thuringia

Gewerkschaft Erziehung und Wissenschaft (GEW) – Stamm Verlag GmbH

Lesezirkel-Medien-Palette GmbH & Co.KG, Niederlassung Apolda


var _paq = window._paq = window._paq || []; /* tracker methods like "setCustomDimension" should be called before "trackPageView" */ _paq.push(['trackPageView']); _paq.push(['enableLinkTracking']); (function() { var u="https://matomo.buchenwald.de/"; _paq.push(['setTrackerUrl', u+'matomo.php']); _paq.push(['setSiteId', '22']); var d=document, g=d.createElement('script'), s=d.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; g.async=true; g.src=u+'matomo.js'; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s); })();

Newsroom Veranstaltungen Team & Kontakt

Interventionen_2024: Zwangsarbeit in aller Öffentlichkeit

Die künstlerischen Interventionen bringen die Geschichte der NS-Zwangsarbeit pointiert in den öffentlichen Raum. Menschen, die von den Deutschen zu Zwangsarbeiter:innen gemacht wurden, erhalten eine Präsenz mitten in unserem Alltag. Zugleich konfrontiert das Projekt mit dem rassistischen Regelwerk der Nazis. Gemeinsam mit der Weimarer Künstlerin Anke Heelemann haben wir die Interventionen aus den Inhalten unserer Dauerausstellung entwickelt.


Kunst schafft Begegnungen mit der Vergangenheit

Die Kunstaktion trägt historische Dokumente auf ungewöhnliche Weise in die digitale wie analoge Öffentlichkeit und schafft so im Alltag der Menschen unvermittelte, direkte Begegnungen mit der Vergangenheit – und mit dem Thema NS-Zwangsarbeit. Sie will überraschen und irritieren zugleich, Neugier stiften und Bewusstsein für Geschichte anregen.

Private Fotografien von Zwangsarbeiter:innen während ihres Aufenthaltes im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland sind das zentrale Element der Interventionen. Junge Menschen begegnen uns hier selbstbewusst und lebensmutig. Ihre Erinnerungsberichte und Widmungen auf den Rückseiten oder gar Botschaften in den Bildern rücken die scheinbar harmlosen Fotos in ihren Kontext und legen die Umstände der Zwangsarbeit in Deutschland offen.

Das Verhältnis der Deutschen zu den Zwangsarbeiter:innen war durch den nationalsozialistischen Rassismus geprägt. Dies spiegelte sich auch in den umfassenden Reglementierungen wider, die die NS-Behörden für sämtliche Lebensbereiche erließen. Die Interventionen holen einige Regeln als „Störer“ in den öffentlichen Raum, und zwar vor allem dorthin, wo sie im damaligen Alltag des Nationalsozialismus gegolten hätten: im öffentlichen Nahverkehr, im Stadtraum, an Orten der Kultur, der Arbeit und Freizeit.

UNTERSTÜTZEN SIE UNS!

Bereits eine Vielzahl von Unterstützer:innen gibt den Schicksalen von Zwangsarbeiter:innen Raum und trägt dazu bei, den alltäglichen und systematischen Rassismus der NS-Gesellschaft vor Augen zu führen. Sie stellen dafür Platz zur Verfügung in ihren Publikationen, Websites, Räumlichkeiten oder Postkartenständern, auf Social Media oder dem städtischen Mobiliar, in Bussen, auf Bahnhöfen oder an Haltestellen.

Im Zusammenspiel von Vielen appellieren wir so an unsere historische und – mehr denn je aktuelle – gesellschaftliche Verantwortung, alltäglich gegen Ausgrenzung und für die Achtung der Menschenwürde und der unteilbaren Menschenrechte einzustehen.

Jede weitere Unterstützung potenziert die Wirkung dieses Projektes und die gemeinsame Botschaft.

Sie möchten dabei sein? Sprechen Sie uns an!


Unser herzlicher Dank gilt den Unterstützer:innen:

Bastelladen Fricke | Bauhaus-Universität Weimar | BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN-Landtagsfraktion Thüringen | Deutsches Nationaltheater und Staatskapelle Weimar GmbH | Eckermann-Buchhandlung | Evang.-Luth. Kirchenkreis Weimar | Gaswerk Weimar e.V. | Gedenkstätte für Zwangsarbeit Leipzig | Gewerkschaft Erziehung und Wissenschaft (GEW) – Stamm Verlag GmbH | Jugend-, Kultur- & Bildungszentrum mon ami | Klassik Stiftung Weimar | Kommunales Kino im mon ami | Kunstfest Weimar | Lichthaus Kino | Lesezirkel-Medien-Palette GmbH & Co.KG, Niederlassung Apolda | Museumshop GmbH Weimar | NS-Dokumentationszentrum der Stadt Köln | ringladen weimar | Stadt Weimar | Stadtbibliothek Weimar | Stadtwerke Weimar Stadtversorgungs-GmbH | Stadtwirtschaft Weimar GmbH | Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft (EVZ) | TEEBOUTIQUE am Schillermuseum | Thalia Deutschland, Filiale Weimar | Thüringer Landtag | Universitätsbibliothek der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar | Volkshochschule Weimar | weimar GmbH


var _paq = window._paq = window._paq || []; /* tracker methods like "setCustomDimension" should be called before "trackPageView" */ _paq.push(['trackPageView']); _paq.push(['enableLinkTracking']); (function() { var u="https://matomo.buchenwald.de/"; _paq.push(['setTrackerUrl', u+'matomo.php']); _paq.push(['setSiteId', '22']); var d=document, g=d.createElement('script'), s=d.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; g.async=true; g.src=u+'matomo.js'; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s); })();